PDA

View Full Version : Belt Squeal!!

bumbleb77
12-17-2008, 07:46 PM
I am a student mechanic. I just picked up a 2000 Ranger 3.0L 4x4 ext. cab with 118k. I have replaced the idler and tensioner pullies and the belt 3 weeks ago. The squeal has returned and does seem to be temperature sensative. It's -10 right now. It does get quieter above 0 and before the temp dropped it was just an intermitent chirp.

No belt dressing solutions or sprays. SOLID FIXES PLZ!!!:sad::sad:

Sick 99 Ranger
12-17-2008, 07:51 PM
whats up man. my 99 does da same thing. durin da summer. itz fine. but the winter time, everytime i start it. it stops when it warmz up. itz just a ford thing. my dads 98 f150 does it. nothins wrong. fords are just cold natured.

bumbleb77
12-17-2008, 07:53 PM
Do you mean engine warm up or temp warm up. Mine doesn't stop after the engine warms up. It's constant.

Bob Ayers
12-17-2008, 08:00 PM
Remove the belt to verify that's where the squeal is coming from. The camshaft position sensor synchronizer will start to squeal before it goes out.

bumbleb77
12-17-2008, 09:57 PM
I did read that. It did go away when I replaced the pullies and the belt.

I went downstairs (-5 deg) and pulled the belt, ran the engine, no noise. I checked the A/C, smooth. Checked the ALT, normal. The water pump/clutch fan as far a I can tell, OK. No play in the Crankshaft pulley. The P/S pulley had some movement. It seemed to move forward and back about 1/32-1/16". It's been a awhile since steering and suspention, but, is the P/S pulley supposed to have endplay??

Wicked_Sludge
12-17-2008, 11:14 PM
a little in and out movement is normal. what brand is your belt?

bumbleb77
12-18-2008, 12:03 PM
I work at a Goodyear tire dealer.....So a goodyear belt. I belive we get them from Napa.

Wicked_Sludge
12-18-2008, 01:26 PM