• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Mazda B2300 Trans. and Diff. questions.

pentiuman

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda
Transmission
Manual
Hi! Newbie here. I'm trying to identify my transmission and differential and do some maintenance – change fluids, and maybe the differential cover. TIA! Why I want to be sure I do everything right: I previously had a 92 Ranger, 4cyl., w/ (probably) the Mazda M5OD-R1 manual transmission. I did a lot of work on the truck, including transmission removal, cleaning, new throwout bearing, starter ring gear, u-joints, put in expensive synthetic ATF. I put everything back together thinking I’d have this truck for a long time. Right? No. Within about a year, the manual transmission fried from a fluid leak! I had no idea that it was leaking anything significant, (must have leaked mainly once warmed up and while moving). Since the truck had other issues, and I didn’t want to mess with the transmission again, it went to the junkyard.

I replaced it with my current truck, a 97 Mazda B2300, 4cyl., 7.5 RG differential, 5spd manual transmission. (Chosen, since it shares some of the same parts that I kept, like starter, A/C, battery, alternator, etc.) Questions:

1. Does my Mazda B2300 have the M5OD-R1 transmission? TRS’s Terms Page states, “"R1" refers to the Mazda built "M5OD-R1" transmission introduced in 1988 and is the ONLY manual trans used in rangers from 1993-on (and from 1988-1992 only 2.9 engines could be equipped with the "other" manual transmission)”. Under Ford Ranger Manual Transmissions – TRS states, a transmission code of “M” indicates a Mazda M50D-R1 transmission. It also says,