• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Heater Problems (1998 3.0L)

Paraaronoid

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
1998 - 3.0L 5spd Manual Reg. Cab; 190,000 km

I am baffled by this one, but probably don't have enough knowledge to sort this one through. I have very little experience, so it probably doesn't take much :)

Yesterday on the drive home from work I could not get warm/hot air blowing into the cab. This was a very sudden thing for me as I had nice warm air on my drive into work. Here in Sask., Canada our temperatures right now are in the -30C range, so anything that deviates from the norm (at least heat-wise) is easy to spot.

I have been doing some observing between idling in my garage and highway driving (anytime I took the temp, I put a thermometer directly in the air being blown through the vents):
1. Engine temperature according to the gauge reads exactly where it should be (half way).
2. When idling in my garage warming it up, it will take an excessively long time for the cab to warm up, although if left for 25 minutes or so, the temperature of the air blowing will go from 6C (43F) to 17C (63F). The engine temp. gauge will appropriately move from cold to normal operating temperature.
3. When the cab heat is blowing at 17C (63F), I took it out for a drive on the highway. Within a period of just minutes and only driving 6 km (4 miles), the temp of the air returned back to 6C (43F).
4. Once "warmed up", engine temp gauge is always where it should be.
5. Heater hoses going through firewall are HOT.
6. Upper radiator hose is HOT.
7. Black plastic shroud underneath dash passenger-side (close to the firewall) is also warm to the touch.