• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

How do I replace the water outlet?

UncleBud473

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
I am new and trying to replace the water outlet from the top rear of the block on a 2003 ford ranger 2.3l 4L engine. Any help would be appreciated. The cooling tube broke off in it and in trying to remove it I busted it! Not really a mechanic, but I really do not want to pay a lot to get it fixed. I am a vet who is disabled and spend a lot of time and money fighting the VA. Please help.
Thanks! :annoyed:

adsm08

Senior Master Grease Monkey
Supporting Member
Article Contributor
Ford Technician
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
31X10.50X15
I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but step two for replacing the rear water outlet is to remove the transmission.

Unfortunately for you, and others in the similarly unfortunate position of owning a late-model 4-cylinder Ranger many things that should be fairly minor repairs have that as step two or three. That engine was originally designed to be transverse mounted, and a lot of the parts placements reflect that. When it's sideways across the vehicle that stuff is easy to work on. When it's put in longitudinally with the firewall right there, taking the trans out is the only way to get enough room to work.

Last edited:

UncleBud473

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
Water outlet 2003 2.3l 4l engine?

Is there anyway to replace the water outlet by going through the drivers side finder well? or would that be harder then dropping the transmission?

adsm08

Supporting Member
Article Contributor
Ford Technician
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual