• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

need help im going crazy. 3.0L Flex rough idle.

jaksun

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
Guys this is my first time posting on here but i need your help. Im going crazy trying to figure out whats going wrong. My truck has a periodic rough idle and misfire. Giving me the codes P0301, P0401, P1171. ive replaced the cylinder heads, PCV valve, Dpfe sensor, dpfe hoses, coil pack, spark plugs, spark wires, egr solenoid, and vacuume tested the egr valve it holds pressure fine, did a top end cleaning, and injector cleaning, did a compression test it failed because the air would escape out of the other spark plug holes, and did a cylinder leakdown test and the rings are good. If any one can help me with this i would greatly appreciate it.

Big Jim M

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
did a compression test it failed because the air would escape out of the other spark plug holes.
WHAT! You are waaay wrong on that. Tell us what the compression was (is)!
Yeah the other holes are making sounds but that sound is from each of their cylinders, not the one you are testing at the time.
Big Jim

jaksun

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
It would not hold any compression untill i pluged the other spark plug holes. Thats what made me think the exhaust valve was not seating properly so i did a top end cleaning and injector cleaning. But it made no differance. Still the same codes.

Big Jim M

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
check again

It would not hold any compression untill i pluged the other spark plug holes. Thats what made me think the exhaust valve was not seating properly so i did a top end cleaning and injector cleaning. But it made no differance. Still the same codes.