• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Should I Buy This 2003 4.0 Ranger?

YOHO

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Hey all! Quick post. Do you think this Ranger is worth it? I'm really leaning towards no. Honest answer is fine!

I've had my uncles Ranger for the past two years. I graduated college and have been looking for a job for a number of months. Fortunately I"m in the interview process! Long story short, I need a relatively cheap car, soon.

I can across a Ranger with a thermostat leak, and therefore they are selling the car cheap. It's a 4.0 SOHC 2003 Automatic Ranger (link below) w/ 102k miles for $1500, but has a salvage title. Probably get the price down to 1k. Car is 20 mins away so would need to tow.

http://sfbay.craigslist.org/eby/cto/5880254755.html

I'm hoping you can help me out to see if it might be worth buying the car. I have a few questions. Thanks

1. Would you buy this car? Basically curious how big of a risk you think it is?

Normally I wouldn't even think of buying a car without being able to drive it and having a salvage title (the airbags are still original). I'm leaning towards not dealing with it (but I haven't seen the car yet) as there could be other problems without test driving it. I think it could be a good deal, but am just worried it will be a hassle and more could be wrong such as over heating. They said some of the spark plug wires were cracked. I'm assuming maybe the truck wasn't taken that good care of. I would also need to fix and then smog it. To me this all sounds like a bit of a risk, but wanted to ask someone else's opinion. 102k miles isn't too bad but there could be other problems...such as dealing with smog...

If so:

2. What should I look for when I see the car? I'm thinking:

a. Check oil/oil cap for sludge or any buildup or metal particles