Home Discussion Forum Tech Articles Other Articles Featured Rides Readers Rides Classifieds Shirts & Decals Parts Store

Ford Ranger Discussion Forum

Off-Road Truck Of The Month

'boneshaker'
March 2014 OTOTM

Mini Truck Of The Month

'one'
March 2014 MTOTM

Go Back   The Ranger Station Forums > Styling & Electrical > Misc Electrical & Gauges

Misc Electrical & Gauges Post your speedometer, gauges, interior and non audio/video questions here.

Old 09-30-2011, 11:45 PM   #1
rab

Vehicle Year: 87
Vehicle Make: merkur
Vehicle Model: xr4ti
rab is on a distinguished road
Default non tach cluster to tach cluster 83 ranger

1st off im new to the ranger.
i have a 83 ranger carbed 2.0 4 speed 2wd and it has a non tach cluster in it, i want to install a stock tach cluster from the same era in it.

i will be doing a 2.3 efi turbo swap into it.
im unsure if i will use a efi ranger harness or the merkur harness, and will just hard wire the powers,fuel pump and grounds.

i wont be doing the efi turbo swap untill next spring,but would like to find a tach cluster and swap it in now.

so what years had a stock tach cluster that matches my truck, ie 80's style,?

will there be any extra wiring i have to do?

is it better to swap the whole cluster, or just swap the tach part to mine, i would think the whole cluster?

Last edited by rab; 09-30-2011 at 11:49 PM.
rab is offline   Reply With Quote
Forum Notices (Not shown to 'Premium Members')

Reminder:

We're looking for participants to help move our banner from Alaska to Florida: Click HERE.

Click HERE to see the banner map.

Want to become a Premium Member & not see these notices? Click HERE.

Click HERE to vote for the Mini Truck Of The Month

Click HERE to vote for the Off-Road Truck Of The Month.

Don't forget to vote!

Old 10-01-2011, 09:54 AM   #2
inuyasha2875

Vehicle Year: 1983,1986
Vehicle Make: FORD
Vehicle Model: RANGER 4X4 BRONCO II RANGER EX CAB 2WD
I use this vehicle for: everything