• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

3.0 to 4.0 or to 5.0?

rusty ol ranger

Im a Jeep guy now.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
2.9 V6
Engine Size
177 CID
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
My credo
A legend to the old man, a hero to the child...
the problem with 5.o swap is availability. A couple of T-birds with the 5.o are around. How hard would that be. Could I get that engine to work with the wiring harness of an expo, or would I have to use something like "Painless Wiring.Com" or Rock Auto to get an expo wiring harness. I would think the t-bird V8 has a little more hp. but I'm no expert, that's why I'm here.

I dont know what you have for emissions there, but a carbed 302 with a few goodies would be a dirt simple swap and be a pretty hot little diddy as well.

85_Ranger4x4

Forum Staff Member
TRS Event Staff
TRS Forum Moderator
Article Contributor
V8 Engine Swap
OTOTM Winner
TRS Banner 2010-2011
TRS 20th Anniversary
VAGABOND
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
I dont know what you have for emissions there, but a carbed 302 with a few goodies would be a dirt simple swap and be a pretty hot little diddy as well.
Carb isn’t very dirt simple into an ‘01...

rusty ol ranger

Im a Jeep guy now.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
2.9 V6
Engine Size
177 CID
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
My credo
Carb isn’t very dirt simple into an ‘01...
Oh hes got that stupid anti theft shit...

Still wouldnt be bad, just wire past that. Fuel line, hooked to a mechanical pump, pumping fuel thats ignitied by duraspark...

85_Ranger4x4

Forum Staff Member
TRS Event Staff
TRS Forum Moderator
Article Contributor
V8 Engine Swap
OTOTM Winner
TRS Banner 2010-2011
TRS 20th Anniversary
VAGABOND
TRS Event Participant