• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Recent content by 1996xlt

1. 1996xlt

2000 Ranger XL Supercab driver seat swap issue.

Don't know if the 00' have the seatbelt pre-tensioners built in to the buckles but my 02' did; my work around was mount the buckle directly to the hinge point of the 96' explorer leather buckets on manual tracks I put in it. I had to open up the hole very slightly with a 1/2" drill bit (it was...
  2. 1996xlt

Highschool shop class, did you have one?

Wood Shop and off-site Vo-Tech that offered masonry, introductory HVAC, welding, small engine repair and body shop was available through my school system in 02' when I graduated. All thats left (I think) through the Vo-tech school now is HVAC and small engine. Wish I took body shop in high...
  3. 1996xlt

Changing 2000 Explorer cruise control buttons

You're on the right track with prying them out, sounds like a couple of prongs on the backside of the switch: https://www.explorerforum.com/forums/threads/2000-limited-cruise-control-switches.414116/ Post #4 Hope that helps.
  4. 1996xlt

My New House & Workshop

Jim, After reading through this thread and seeing what you're going through with your shop I can't help but think I'm going the right route with mine. I have a similar building as you, though not as big, all cinderblock on a concrete pad. I considered for a while rehabbing it, but between the...
  5. 1996xlt

'98 4x4- How to replace lower ball joints without messing with torsion bars?

Removal of the lower ball joints (once the steering knuckle is off) is actually quite easy; remove the snap ring (if it has one) just hit in the center of it with a hammer. As long as it's not rust-ceased in place they usually pop out after a few good hits and with the torsion bar still in place...
  6. 1996xlt

1995 F-150 Mild Build Thread