• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Search results

1. 99 Ranger XLT 4 liter temp sender malfunction

Thanks everyone. I appreciate the info and photo of the A pillar GlowShift gauges.
  2. 99 Ranger XLT 4 liter temp sender malfunction

I may have to find another cluster. I just noticed that the needle is sitting at operating temp and the engine is cold. If I power up it resets to cold and then rises as it should when the engine warms up. If I put in another cluster I'm guessing I have to switch out the odometer.
  3. 99 Ranger XLT 4 liter temp sender malfunction

Good news. It works. I bought the Motorcraft sender and put it in. Ran her up to operating temp and she's around 194 to 198. T stat is 192. Thanks for the above tip about the different shaped ends. I did not know this. I'm no mechanic, just have some common sense. I still want to put in...
  4. 99 Ranger XLT 4 liter temp sender malfunction

Bought the Motorcraft sender this morning. I'll put it in after work later today. Here's hoping it works. I'll probably check the continuity before I screw it in.
  5. 99 Ranger XLT 4 liter temp sender malfunction

I'm stumped. All I did was unplug this sensor and put a new one in. I put the old one back in when the new one didn't work. Would it be any better if I got the Motorcraft one? I hate to be a parts cannon person.
  6. 99 Ranger XLT 4 liter temp sender malfunction

I tested the old sender which is back in the truck. Black lead to case and red lead to each of the terminals. No resistance on both pins. I took the new Carquest one I had previously put in the truck the other day and 0 on one terminal and 19 ohms on the other. Ambient temp is 70 degrees...
  7. 99 Ranger XLT 4 liter temp sender malfunction