• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

1987 2.3L. Another no start... but this thread is different: I've done all the tests!

4RingCircus

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
2.3 (4 Cylinder)
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Well, it comes to this... My truck won't start. Yes, I'm a rookie, but I read a lot. And this truck has me stumped. Time for help from the forum:

Truck Summary: 1987 2.3 Lima engine. Yes, its old... but runs great. About 187K miles. Truck was running fine. I parked at the office, worked all day. When my day was done, I went out to the truck, and she fired right up as always. I drove 1 block to the first stop light. And while idling at the light, suddenly the truck died. And not a sputter then die~ this was instant death: as if I had turned the key and shut it off. Every time I've tried to start it since, it cranks over and over and over.... but never even gives a hint of starting. On to what I've tested.
  • Spark
    • pulled the first plug and hooked up a tester. Nice bright spark flashing exactly like I would expect it to.
  • Fuel
    • my fuel pump cutoff relay stopped working a long time ago. I've removed the relay and hooked up a kill switch, which has worked flawlessly for years.
    • 1987 had 2 pumps. The high pressure mounted on the rail turns on as usual when I turn the key. I can't hear anything from the low pressure inside the tank.... so I guess it could be the low pressure pump...Except... see the next bullet.
    • I sprayed starting fluid directly into the intake manifold. Once again, the engine cranks over and over and over.... not even a hint of starting.
    • I pulled the plug off injector 1 and hooked up an engine light. It flashes exactly like it should, so at least the electrical controlling the injectors is working.