• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

3.0 Updates. and new questions

88workcar

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger XL
Transmission
Manual
I have read through all I could find here and other places. I have a 2001 3.0 single cab. That engine will not stay in there but it will be a little while. While working towards my project I find myself wanting to do things to the 3.0.

1st question, has anyone used the Tom Morana parts? Ported intake, dual TB mod and so on? The dual TB intake claims 25hp 25tq. I think that is quite far fetched and would like to know if anyone has indeed try such parts.

I have been porting intakes and heads for 20+ years and this would be nothing to do. I do have a broken exhaust stud on one head so I will be pulling them. I will order the reman heads with the upgraded seats ($309.00) and port those, then swap.

2nd Question is are the old 5.0 Mustang rockers interchangeable? I have a few sets.

I know the engine was designed for torque and it does well, fighting the shear design could become a issue but i'm not asking for this one to see 200+ and 6k rpm lol. Just put some pep in it's step. Thanks, Jason.

wlfpck

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
I believe people have used the roller rockers and had some good results. As for the ported intake and stuff, I'm new to the Ford Ranger, so not sure if I'm correct or not in my assumptions...

I think some of the stuff he has is for the 3.0 is for the older 3.0 where it had the non-composite intake manifold. Then there's stuff like the "large elbow throttle body" and "4 barrel carb'd intake". I tried youtubing some of the stuff he has listed to see what it does and stuff like that but was not able to find much on some stuff.