• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

4-Cyl. running cold

tworanger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1991, 1997
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
I have a 1991 Ford ranger with a 2.3 liter manual. It has 164,000 mile on it and everything runs great yet. My problem is the temp gauge barely(?) makes it into the normal band in the cluster after driving 20 miles. The heat coming out of the vents is warm at best, never really getting hot. I have placed a piece of cardboard in front of the radiator with a 5"x5" hole and it still never heats up totally. I have replaced the thermostat with a 195 degree one and nothing has changed. I am no professional, but don't think the heater core could be the problem because the gauge indicates it's running cool. I know these engines never had a problem with overheating but it sure would be nice to get it warmer on cold mornings. you can ask me more questions if it would help, any ideas?

RobbieD

2.9l Mafia
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
My credo
Toonces drives a Ranger . . . . just not very well.
Have you flushed the cooling system out real good, with a garden hose? On one hand you may have sludge or scale buildup on the inside surfaces of the heater core, preventing a good heat exchange, but on the other hand I'm always hesitant to suggest anything more than a clean water flushing of the cooling system. Also might want to check that the blend door is fully operable, and perhaps also check that you don't have trash (leaves) blocking the air flow through the core. The heater core hoses should be getting pretty hot to the touch; are they?

tworanger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1991, 1997
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual