• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

A saving choice

David052365

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Both 4.0
Transmission
Manual
I bought a 1994 Ranger XLT last fall for $900 and I like it alot. Well, over the course of the winter things started to go out on it and I was just about to send it to the bone yard, BUT, (always a but) My GF likes the truck allot and we decided to save it. Now my issue. I'm changing out the Clutch master cyl and I am wondering how I can remove the hose fron the slave without damaging it. I removed the old master last night and I have not figured out how I can do this without damage. I am no mechanic at all, but I do know and understand most and this is why I have decided to make my Ranger my summer project. Any help??????:icon_twisted:

Mark_88

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Dordge
Engine Size
3.3 Fuel Injected
Transmission
Automatic
My credo
Love Thy Neighbor
Hi David and welcome to TRS~!

You mean the connector on the transmission won't come off?

If so, it is a common problem that is easy enough to fix usually...but it takes a bit of manual dexterity.

The slave fitting is a coupled connection and it usually comes apart by pressing the ring on the back side backwards and pulling the hose out in the opposite direction. When this fails it is usually because the plastic ring that compresses the fingers in the connector to release the hose is not moving with the outer section as it should.

To correct this you can try to push the white plastic ring back over the fingers using two slot head screw drivers or similarly shaped tools (Ford actually has a tool for this). I made up a tool like the Ford one out of an old bicycle wrench and it worked a bit better because that frees up one hand so you can use it to pull the hose out of the slave fitting.