• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

End Play At Rear Wheels

8thTon

--- Banned ---
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
3.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
My credo
My world is filled with stuff that needs to be fixed
I have just noticed that there seems to be quite a bit of play at both rear wheels. If I jack it up and remove the parking brake I can move the rear wheel in ad out quite a bit. I have not tried to measure it but it seems excessive - you can hear them thunk back and forth. I have never messed with rear bearings or rear axles before, so I have no experience here. Do I read it correctly that the Maximum axle shaft end play is 0.030"?

Looking at the diagram it does not appear that the outer bearing is set up to take end thrust, so this must be on the inner end? How is it adjusted?

55trucker

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
3.0 V6
Engine Size
3.0L
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Total Lift
-
Total Drop
mild
There is no adjustment on either 7 1/2" or 8.8 rear ends. The thrust is taken by the ends of the axle shafts & the single lock pin between them that prevents the axles from moving inward & dropping out the U-clip retainers that are fitted into a groove on the ends of the shafts. This is inside the differential case.

Last edited:

8thTon

--- Banned ---
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
3.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
My credo
Well ok then. Looking at the movement of the inner edge of the drum in relation to the backing plate, I’d guess it’s on the order of 0.030”, so I’m going to forget about it for now.

I only noticed because the rear drums squeaked with the parking brake on when I pushed on the bed from the side.

55trucker

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
3.0 V6
Engine Size
3.0L
Transmission