• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Ford Badges & Ranger Emblems

RangerJoey

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L V6
Transmission
Automatic
My credo
Teen Wolf for President!
Hi All,

Newbie here! Just was wondering about several small tweaks to bring a 1999 XLT cosmetically up to date and figured I'd address some of the low hanging fruit before talking a face swap. I currently don't have a Ranger,
but if (WHEN!), are there guideholes behind the Ford Badge located on the bottom passenger corner of the tailgate? Also regarding the Ford Badge,
does anyone know if the newer rear emblems, (I believe 2006 and up),
have posts as well? My aim would be to remove the lower stock emblem and mount a newer style in the middle of the tailgate.

Finally, does anyone know if the stock "Ranger (XLT)" name badges that sit on the fenders use guideposts? And of course, does anyone know if the newer style name badges require posts and/or align to the 1999 body? Like the Ford emblem, I'd like to swap the old individual lettering style with the newer full name plates.

Thanks for any input!

lil_Blue_Ford

TRS Forum Moderator
Supporting Member
V8 Engine Swap
TRS 20th Anniversary
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.9L
Transmission
Manual
Not sure about the tailgate ones (but most likely they do have guide posts). Fenders have guide posts on the emblems.

Now... 1993 and up Rangers shared the same beds. The difference was in the taillight and wiring for it, so a tailgate will swap. 1998 and up Rangers used the same front fenders, so the guide holes should be the same.

Sent from my kite using a trebuchet

RangerJoey

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L V6
Transmission
Automatic
My credo
Teen Wolf for President!
Thanks LBF! Definitely going to be my first "mod"