• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2.3L ('83-'97) Help ‘97 Ford Ranger

RE2020

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Automatic
I had just changed my oil this morning on my 1997 Ford Ranger 2.3. I live in Tennessee and I have been using 5W20 for probably 2 years or so. This morning I used a different oil brand (probably has 0 relevance but I’m trying to troubleshoot) and changed my oil with the same filter I normally do and my engine had started making a strange ticking noise. I’m not sure if I’ve heard it before or not but I noticed it leaving the gym and was kind of worried. Would anyone have any idea as to what this would be and if I should be concerned/if I would be fine still driving? I’ve heard people in other forums with this noise driving tens of thousands and one guy almost 100,000 with the noise. Thank you in advance! There’s a couple of videos on YouTube about it but I’m new here and don’t know how to post a video of it.

Josh B

Supporting Member
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Hey RE2020, Welcome to TRS.
What weight oil did you have in it before and what weight oil did you use? What type oil, before and after?
Does the 97 have the long timing chain?

Someone else will help you with this at another time, I'm just offering things for you to think about in the meantime.
It seems most everybody has turned in for the night

RE2020

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Automatic
T
What weight oil did you have in it before and what weight oil did you use? What type oil, before and after?

Someone else will help you with this at another time, I'm just offering things for you to think about in the meantime.