• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

I need some basic Ranger 4x4 info

wooky1971

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
I have had Ranger 4x4 sitting for a while. I dont recall if its a 1990 or 91. It has been changed over to the 4.0. I have decided to make it into an off road toy but I have a few questions. This is the first 4x4 I have owned so bear with me. First off how well does the ranger 4x4 running gear hold up. Im not going to do any serious rock crawling. Just go out and get muddy. Im concern that since the ranger is not a full size truck the 4x4 may be more "light duty".

I have no 4x4 experience but I do know mechanics. I also have welders (mig and stick) plasma cutter, tube benders, etc. What upgrades do I need to address first. Im guessing ground clearance it one also skid plates. Is there any inherent problems with the 4x4 ranger I need to know about.

Any info would be great.

ericbphoto

Overlander in development
TRS Event Staff
TRS Forum Moderator
Supporting Member
U.S. Military - Veteran
TRS 20th Anniversary
VAGABOND
TRS Event Participant
GMRS Radio License
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Type
3.0 V6
Engine Size
3.0L
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
6"
Tire Size
35"
My credo
In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they are different.
Danger #1. Rangers are addictively fun.

Read a bunch of threads here on TRS and you'll start to get a feel for these trucks. Then read through the "how to tech" articles and you'll get more ideas of ways to make the truck do what you want it to do. Many are inexpensive and easy.

Increasing ground clearance is a great step towards making a truck trail-worthy.

This message composed solely of recycled electrons. Go green!

pjtoledo

Supporting Member
U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year