• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

New to trucks- Help?

canucker

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
No Fords.....ye
Transmission
Automatic
Hi all.
My names Sean, ive decided that i would finally like to get a truck. Ive been playing around with Volkswagens for almost 4 years now and while i love them and will always be attached, its time for me to grow some and move up to my own truck.

I was first told about this forum from a old co-worker of mine who was/is a regular user Balir Spring? lost contact with the guy and know time to figure stuff out on my own.

Im lookign for a older model 88-95? i knwo there differnent generations but there the ones that populate most of the junk yard by my house so makes it easier to find parts lol.

Im lookign for a 4wd cuz deep snow and rwd suck (fwd is good i guess). Are there any years were the 4wd systems were better? what axels are the best. keepign in mind i have little knowledge about differnces. Also are there any guidlines and a buyers guide for the 4wd systems?

Next seem like most of these trucks are standard. I do like myself standards but after driving my dads monster GMC 2500 HD with a stick i would never get a heavy duty stick shift. Im assumign that the standars on these trucks would perform more like cars then bigger trucks? are the clutches hydro or cable? how hard to change a clutch, quick search showed i had to remove the exhaust?