• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Newbie oil plug location and jack questions

twzip

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Hi – I’m a newbie with a used 2000 2WD ranger, regular cab, xlt, 2.5L manual transmission. Can anyone tell me where the engine oil drain plug is? I do see a plug marked “drain” under the truck on the drivers side, however it appears to be located on the lower end of the transmission. Its very close to a plug marked “fill” which I’m taking to be the transmission fill plug.

Anyway, that’s all I saw – can anyone help?

Also, my truck came without a jack, so without the jack handles I can’t lower my spare tire holder. Is there an aftermarket way to get the handles (jack looks like a regular bottle jack). If I have to go the ebay route, is there any difference in the jacks – for example, I’m looking at two auctions (290191616709, 290191616308), the first is for an extended cab, the second for a regular cab. Will they both work for my regular cab? Someone said something about coil springs (which I think I have) – will the jacks work with those?

Thanks for your help

LittleBigFoot

V8 Engine Swap
OTOTM Winner
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
79-00
Make / Model
Mostly Ford.
Engine Size
Building a 408w
Transmission
Automatic
You can have mine for 20 bucks.

Isn't tall enough anymore

kunar

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
Supporting Member
Article Contributor
V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
5.8l
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
find a buddy with a jack handle you can borrow, then put the spare in the bed. take your $20 and go get a 2 ton hydraulic floor jack. it will work a hell of a lot better than anything ford put in there at the factory.

86isuzu

TRS Member Since 2003
Supporting Member
Firefighter
EMT / Paramedic
ASE Certified Tech