• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Use same viscosity with synthetic?

exbass94

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2006, 1994
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0 SOHC, 4.0 OHV
Transmission
Automatic
Kind of a stupid question, but since I'm a newb once again I think this is a good opportunity to ask one. If I switch to synthetic, should I still use 5w30 as recommended by Ford? Will I develop any timing chain noise? I have 14k miles on the SOHC and ZERO noise, and I would like to keep it that way. I would probably use the Napa (Valvoline) synthetic. I also need it to perform well in both 100 degree (Fahrenheit) weather, and around freezing (32* F) temps.

MAKG

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
Yes. Viscosity is viscosity, at least for crankcase oils (the index is different for gear oils).

exbass94

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2006, 1994
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0 SOHC, 4.0 OHV
Transmission
Automatic
Yea, that's what I figured, just wanted to make sure. Thanks a lot.

Ozwynn

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
RE Interceptor
Transmission
Manual
My credo
If you can't go through it or around it, then go over it.
Yes. Viscosity is viscosity, at least for crankcase oils (the index is different for gear oils).
Micheal, let me pick your brain and ask a noob question. I know I should know the answer to this but I tried to explain it the other day and couldn't.