• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2.3 misses will not rev up

tip37807

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Transmission
Automatic
hi everyone bear with me im new at this, have a 94 ranger that ate timing belt cranksensor and crank hub. replaced all pieces ,engine ran great for about a month, parked it for a couple days started it up, engine ran rough and will mot rev up. now when i replaced the crank sensor i got two that was bad and it would not start , i have not cam sensor so that is out of the way, once i got together it ran perfect for the month stated. now I've replaced the crank sensor again , still it misses and will mot rev up. now here it what i have done, list is as follows compressions is 140 ,no egr ( never had one) no cam sensor , replaced tps sensor replaced mass air flow sensor, coil and wired ,plugs , even ran engine on scaner, all shows to be working even o2 sensor, i have even done ohms test on wiring harness from sensors to the computer all good and tried another computer i know to be good. also checked fuel pressure its 40 running and 44 regulator unplugged. even checked grounds, does anybody have any clue what might be wrong, please chime in I'm at a loss, thanks have a great day

tomw

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Type
2.3 (4 Cylinder)
Engine Size
lima bean
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
My credo
vertical and above ground
Difficult to determine the actual problem as written. Please use the return key at the end of a thought if you can't remember the period.

That said, have you checked the volume the fuel pump delivers? If the filter is plugged, you can get normal pressure, BUT, you may not get enough fuel to run over idle speed. The engine would stumble and threaten to stall if the fuel flow was restricted.