• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Replacing the Serpentine Belt Tensioner

anupaum

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
Has anyone done this? Does anyone know how it's done?

After REMOVING my heater fan and re-installing my supercharger, I had my saintly father-in-law evaluate the pulley alignment. He thinks my tensioner needs replacing. I've never done this before, so I was hoping someone here could give me some advice.

Thanks!

srteach

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1999, 2001
Make / Model
Ranger, F350
Engine Size
4.0L, 7.3 Diesel
Transmission
Manual
remove serpentine belt, after making sure you know how it goes on the engine. (3/8 rachet or breaker bar in the center hole of the pulley, lever the pulley back, slip belt off) remove the bolt at the center pivot arm (where it pivots on the mount of the engine) replace it.

V8RangerBoy

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Hopefully you have more front-end clearance than my 5.0 does haha. My belt is a BITCH to get on and off, and even after I get it almost on I have to come up with another 1/2" of nonexistent slack to clear the tensioner. Needless to say, both times I've done it in the last four years I've hated it.

anupaum

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
remove serpentine belt, after making sure you know how it goes on the engine. (3/8 rachet or breaker bar in the center hole of the pulley, lever the pulley back, slip belt off) remove the bolt at the center pivot arm (where it pivots on the mount of the engine) replace it.

I've swapped the belt many times, so pulling it off isn't a problem. My belt tensioner has some kind of star-shaped hole in the center--there is no standard bolt head there. Also, I suspect that the tensioner has to be installed a certain way, but there's an awful lot of corrosion down there!