• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

O/D light flashing and code P0741. 1996 4x4

96ranger702

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Automatic
Hi everyone , love this site and helpful community so far I just wanna say .

First here are the specs that I know .
1996 Ford Ranger XLT -4.0L - 4x4 automatic - 198k .

Back story vehicle : (scroll below for the problem)
I have owned for about 7 months . I am currently a mechanic as a profession but a newbie with less then 3 years as experience this profession. So I am up to par with the basics as far as taking care of it and maintenance at least.
When purchased and still is besides the issue , truck was in outstanding condition and clearly taken care of , for it being a 96. The Seller owned for 5 years and used for trails and some minor rock crawling (lots of common upgrades done for the off road use.)
Important : He had the trans "rebuilt" about 3 years ago (160-170k at time). I have receipt. It only says something about a solenoid , tourque converter, and then fluid , labor , etc. Price was about $1500.
Shop offered no feel or help really except to do a rebuild for a few grand . no warranty under new owner of course .

Problem:
O/D light flashing only when truck has been driven 30-45 min long or 20-35 miles . Its like clock work. My work is 20-30 miles away and always comes on when almost home same spot . I am NOT driving it currently anymore .

When light starts flashing it will shift hard from 1st-2nd gear . the rest are normal . Before light , shifts fine in all gears.

Leading up to above problem and recent repairs:
I started to hear a grinding noise that quickly got louder until bam, flywheel broke . No flashing light or codes either.
I replaced flywheel . Ran great for about a day until light started flashing .