• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

1996 Ford Ranger Transmission (Automatic) Advice

evandaltman

Reaction score
Hey!

Back in November, I got an AMAZING deal and bought my '96 Ranger for $1,000, with only 84,000 miles on it. It has no rust and I completely restored all of the interior. From November to May, the mileage jumped up to 123,000. I pile the miles on because I worked on two presidential campaigns which required tons of driving per day. I've kept this truck perfectly maintained, the first problem has been the transmission.

It started when, one day, I went to leave for work and my truck wouldn't go in reverse. This lasted for about a month and a half. Then, another morning, it started to go in reverse, but will no longer go forward.

I'm a poor college student, so I'm hoping that something can be done instead of rebuilding the transmission. Do any of you know if, from what I described, I'm screwed and have to fork out the money, or could I try a few things first?

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Welcome to TRS :)

What engine and is it 2WD Ranger?

You should have a 4R44E automatic in a 1996 Ranger with 2.3l or 3.0l engine
If you have the 4.0l engine then a 4R55E automatic

Good transmissions, but like ALL automatics they run on Fluid Pressure
Reverse needs the highest pressure, 150+ PSI to engage
Which is why Reverse not engaging or is slow to engage is often first sign of internal leaks, losing internal Pressure.

Because of the low miles the truck probably sat for long periods, without fluid circulation the seals and gaskets dry out and crack, same happens in the engine, valve guide seals

You can try using an Automatic trans fluid treatment, like Lucas ATF conditioner/treatment