• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Replacement hood compatibility

KYOTE

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
Hey everyone, I'm new to the Ford family, and this forum. I just purchased a 2000 Ford ranger 2.5l 2WD regular cab with a step side bed. It was my grandfather's, it has super low miles and I just replaced everything I could find an issue with. The truck drives like new and I couldn't be happier. There's just one problem, the hood is peeling paint on the passenger side. I assume it's from the heat of the exhaust because the heat shield is missing from my hood letting that area get to hot.

Long story short, I'm looking for a new hood at junkyards and want to know what year makes and models will fit on my truck. Also,I was wondering if Ford explorer hoods work as well. I tend to find more of them at the junk yard then rangers. I want this truck to look as good as it drives. Thanks for any help you may have

KYOTE

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
I solved my own problem

Hey everyone, to anyone reading this looking for an answer, I found out most of the questions I asked on my own.

Only hoods from a ford ranger will work. Ford explorer hoods are the same size, but the hood latch is in the wrong spot, causing it to not fit properly. I'm not saying it would be impossible, but not worth my time.

This leaves you with 3 options:

1.) find one at the local junkyard that's the same color and in good shape