• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Need Ranger Help

Xorace

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
I'm pretty interested in this 1997 ranger. It has some serious body damage (I personally don't care) but I mean this truck has been kicked in and vandalized. The bed is in really rough shape & rusted out. The guy's only asking for $500 & it's not running currently because it was out of timing and the valves got bent. I'm not a mechanic, nor an expert that's why I'm asking for help here. Is it too much work to be bothered to get it running and legal? How much should a bed run for? Or.. is there any short cuts to getting a semi-rusted out bed to be "usable"? I really do not care how it looks. Also, how hard is it to replace valves? I apologize for my extremely newby questions.

alwaysFlOoReD

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
TRS Banner 2012-2015
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
'91, '80, '06
Make / Model
Ford, GMC,Dodge
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
I deleted one thread and moved this one to general discussions for more views. You should only post one thread per subject as it can get screwed up for answers if there is more than one.
I think you should find a truck that runs half decent for your first truck, unless you have a lot of time for research and more money...WAG you'll spend another $1,000 on the truck. For $1,500 you can get a decent running truck with minimal repairs to do.

fangotango306

Supporting Member
U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
None yet
Transmission
Automatic