• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Lean code issues

kstandri2018

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
I have been battling lean codes for 8 months now. Two different shops, the dealership, and myself have replaced everything from the Mass Air flow sensor to the fuel pump assembly. I am at my wits end not to mention my billfold is taking a big hit. I checked the PID and what it said is below. Does it point to anything?

Engine RPM 923/min
Ignition Timing Advance 16.5
Intake Temperature 58 C
Fuel System 1 Status CL
Fuel System 2 Status ---
Engine Coolant Temperature 96 C
Calculated LOAD Value 40.0%
Air Flow Rate From Mass Air 6.20 g/s
Flow Sensor
Absolute Throttle Position 16.9%
Oxygen Sensor Output Voltage 0.170V (B1-S1)
Short Term Fuel Trim (B1-S1) 10.9%
Short Term Fuel Trim – Bank 1 9.4%
Long Term Fuel Trim – Bank 1 25.0%
Short Term Fuel Trim – Bank 2 9.4%
Long Term Fuel Trim – Bank 25.0%
Oxygen Sensor Output Voltage 0.405V (B1-S2)
Short Term Fuel Trim (B1-S2) 99.2%
Oxygen Sensor Output Voltage 0.095V (B2-S1)
Short Term Fuel Trim (B2-S1) 11.7%:headbang:

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Welcome to TRS :)

Yes, the Long Term Fuel Trims(LTFT) at 25% are whats causing the Lean codes on both banks
They can take awhile to come down even after you fix a problem, like a few weeks.
OBD readers can't clear LTFT, I think Ford Dealers can but not sure

After engine is warmed up, and idling, unplug the IAC Valve, 2 wire connector
RPMs should drop to 500 or engine may even stall, either is GOOD, it means no vacuum leaks.
If idle does not drop then you have a vacuum leak, upper intake because it effects both banks of the engine.

If RPMs drop then no vacuum leaks, but I would hook up a vacuum gauge to the engine and see what you have