• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Need help finding a Ranger

jakeg1999

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
Hey everyone, newbie here. I've recently made some changes to my current vehicles, (sold my f350, got an Accord). Basically I am looking for a cheap ($3-$5k) truck for some around the house needs and more so that I can throw my mountain bike in it and take it to local trails.

I am trying to learn as much as I can about the ranger, and am open to suggestions. Here is what I am looking for:

#1 Reliability, good history
Engine (power doesn't matter much here)
Trans, most reliable

Extra cab a bonus
Low miles also a bonus.

Basically I am looking for the most reliable years for a truck that will pretty much get rarely used.

What years, trans, and motor should I be looking for?

I am also open to other trucks, brands, etc. (F150??)

Thanks in advance!!!!

hank857

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Well there are all kinds, toyotas, nissan as well as the ranger, so it will all depend on what catches your eye. Out here in az there are all kinds some a little more than what you quoted, some less. I have a 94 SC 2wd, 330000 miles with the biggest issue having been the transmission (5 speed). Have had some other issues such as gasket leaks have r&r'd water pump, radiator, injectors and common replacement items as tuneups, tires etc.

It is the 4.0 ohv, read these sites for comments on the OHC engines, 3.0's and the 4 cyl's. A lot of folks get the 4cyl for mileage, I have found there is little difference in the overall mileage so I say get the 4.0. I can tow a small trailer to dump, take stuff to other places around town if needed and do whatever I need. Use the F350 if I need real big ability.