• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Newbie here...

RobbieD

2.9l Mafia
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
My credo
Toonces drives a Ranger . . . . just not very well.
Lisa, this is just my opinion, but the quote seems to be a little high.

Use the link that @don4331 posted. I put the middle middle "standard" radiator (Spectra) in a cart and used the ZIP on your quote to see that that radiator would cost you around $160 shipped to your door. What the shop quoted you for a radiator is close to the "premium" all-aluminum (Koyorad) radiator.

It's a 22 year old truck. A good standard replacement radiator should cost a lot less, and it sounds like you're best bet is to get your truck repaired, as cost effectively as you can, and well enough to correct the cooling system for several more years of dependability. And, you can't be sure which kind of radiator the shop will actually install.

Labor in the quote doesn't look to list estmated hours, but $400 in labor to change a radiator seems too high.

Two thoughts, or suggestions, if I may:

#1- See how your repair does before committing to a shop repairing it and having to pay that kind of money.
If it were summer...I'd consider it.
If you can get the truck through this winter, you may find that you're in a better situation, or even feel like changing the radiator yourself come Spring.

#2- Check around to see if there are any independent mobile mechanics in your area. These are mechanics that will come to you and work on your car, and others on here have used this kind of service with satisfactory results. You may find someone who will install your parts for a more reasonable labor charge (they have less overhead). You could try looking on google, or heaven forbid, in a phone book.

Just hoping to give you some possible more options (and encouragement).

Good luck!