• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2.3L ('83-'97) 1990 2.3 DIS issue

Juddys123

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Manual
Hello, I’m new to this thread and am currently living in Musella Ga. I work as a heavy duty diesel tech but spend most of my free time turning wrenches on my own stuff. Back in December of last year I hit a deer in my 1990 Ranger shortbed with 2.3 and 5 speed. After installing a new front clip and repairing the body damage I found that the truck had a no spark issue.

I checked everything, I have power to the icm and both coils. Ground to the icm shows 8.5 volts instead of the usual 10-12 and I don’t know if this is problematic. However, my main issue is that I can’t get a good signal from my crank sensor. From what I’ve read the signal should go from 11-12 and then drop to 0 rapidly while the engine turns over.

Strangely I get a constant .25 volts from the crank sensor wire that feeds into the top of the icm and .52 volts at the CID wire. I replaced both the crank sensor and the harmonic balancer and this did not fix my issue. At this point I suspect a continuity issue within the harness but I’ve narrowed it down to either that or the icm. Any help would be appreciated.

scotts90ranger

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1990, 1997
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
2.3 (4 Cylinder)
Engine Size
2.3 Turbo
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
Tire Size
35"
Has it ran at all since you hit the deer? If not, have you checked the inertia switch in the passenger side footwell by the transmission tunnel? When I got in a wreck on my '97 it was tripped AND unplugged. I've been in a minor fender bender with no damage to either vehicle and had that trip on my '90

Juddys123

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Manual