• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2wd Overlanding/Camping?

imnotpark

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Manual
hi im very new to anything to do with forums so cut me some slack...

im a big camper/explorer and love going out deep in the local bush. my problem is that my ford ranger (2004, 3.0L, 2wd) struggles to make it where i want to take it.
ive had a only 2 incidents getting stuck, one was being high centered on a hidden root where all of the weight was forward on the steer axle, and the other was due to being too ballsy in the fresh pow and needing a tow.

in my mind my two options are...
1. sell current truck and buy used low km 4x4 (will take 1-2 years more of saving)
or
2. put 2-3k into suspension, tires, other components and deal with the 2x4

so far my experiences have been amazing in this truck, but ive been looking into 4x4 rangers and their huge price tags and wondering if i really need 4x4?
i ride with my buddy who has a passed down jeep tj and he barely ever uses 4x4 when i have to ditch my truck to ride along deeper into the trail (i understand the differences between weight and wheel base between the vehicles)

any suggestions would be greatly appreciated :)

bobbywalter

TRS Technical Staff
TRS Event Staff
V8 Engine Swap
TRS Technical Advisor
TRS Banner 2012-2015
TRS 20th Anniversary
Ugly Truck of Month
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
FORD mostly
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
BIGGER
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
sawzall?
Tire Size
33-44
My credo
it is easier to fix and understand than "her"
winch.......winch......and maybe another winch if your going where it can go. then a locker.

sgtsandman

Aircraft Fuel Tank Diver
TRS Forum Moderator
U.S. Military - Active
TRS 20th Anniversary
TRS Event Participant
Ham Radio Operator
GMRS Radio License
Reaction score