• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Help!!! Building a 2.5L Turbo

Smoki Joe

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L Vin X (140K)
Transmission
Automatic
Bare with me guys. I'm new to this whole forum thing and the guys I usually talk to 'bout cars and trucks are fans of V6's and V8's.

I'm looking at getting a 2.5L out of a '98 Ranger in the junkyard and rebuilding it to replace the tired 2.3L in my '95 Ranger. During this rebuild I'm looking at adding a turbo from a late '80's Thunder Bird 'Tubo Coupe'. Well since I'm new to the whole turbo thing, so I'm looking for some input.

What I know: (Correct me if I'm dead wrong)
1) How a turbo basicly works.
2)The exhaust manifold from the previously mentioned T-bird will bolt up.

What I don't know: (Any warnings or cautions)
1)Where the oil and cooling lines connect and how they are plumbed.
2)Turbo size and specs for low-med (4-7 psi).

Thanks.:dntknw:

phatcap

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.5L
Transmission
Manual
there is a forced induction forum on this site as well as others. try looking there. also, there's a site called rangersrevenge.com that is specifically geared towards turboing 4-banger rangers. you should find a wealth of information there.

i don't have any experience doing this myself, but i have read a lot about it. you'll also need to get forged pistons, an intercooling system, larger capacity fuel pump/injectors and an 8.8" rearend. it all depends on how much boost you want to run. a lot of people have said its easier to just swap in a complete engine from an '86-'88 t-bird turbo coupe.

Last edited:

Smoki Joe

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L Vin X (140K)
Transmission
Automatic