• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Help! Clicking sound after new plugs and timing belt

Jimbo45

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
95 Ranger 2.3L
Transmission
Manual
Engine: 1995 2.3L, 80,000 miles.

Man, I just spent the past two nights installing new double platinum plugs, new Gates timing belt and TB tensioner, thermostat, temp sender, PCV valve, and a new accesory belt.

I am a fairly experienced hobby mechanic, and I followed instructions for the TB closely, and am pretty confident the timing is good. The cam sprocket/pulley pointer was off (advanced about 1/8") from the housing pointer, when the crank was at TDC and oil pump sprocket/pulley lined up. But, I know all three don't necessarily line up perfectly, on all trucks, plus, it appeared to be off by the same amount with the old belt, before I took it off.

Starting it up, it made some noise for just a few seconds, then quieted to a distinct click at cam and firing speed. It runs fine, and seems to have normal power on the short test drive I did. It just clicks or ticks pretty loud. The sound is a single slow click, every revolution of the cam, or firing of one of the cylinders, and is consistent in sound. The click gets nearly unnoticeable as RPM increases. I can't really hear it when 40 MPH or above, but is noticeable as I slow from there.

I first suspected it was from either the cam sprocket/pulley or oil pump sprocket/pulley's rearward depressed notch, hitting something on the plastic shroud housing, as they turn. But, it sounds more like it is coming from the front of the head, maybe more on the passenger side. It also seems loud if I stick my head under the passenger side, behind the front wheel.