• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Lifting my stock Ranger.

87danger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
FORD
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
So i have a damn near stock truck 87 Ranger 2.9 v6 single cab short box 5 speed has stock posi witch i didnt understand. So im never done a lift so im new to it im not trying to do nothing crazy but i want some thing good!!! I dont want to spend two much and doing a strait axel just seams to much for me right now. I think im only looking for 3 or 4 inches of sus.... lift. I seen this thing on cranking you torsion bars and that sounds like that might be a easy way and quick and cheap way to get some lift but it looks like it might only before 98 and newer rangers.... Any help is good help!!!!!!!!!!!

infantry grunt

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
mazda
Engine Size
3.0l
Transmission
Manual
your right,98 and up is IFS and has torsion bars.if you go any higher than 1 1/2 - 2 inches on the front you will need drop brackets,or you cant align yor frontend properly.I ran into the same problem,trust me you dont want to go there.I bought 2 in. skyjacker spring and blocks when i had this problem,i was replacing wheel bearings every 2-3 weeks.I saved up my money and bought a skyjacker 4in kit w/brackets,well worth the money,that is your best route if you want 3-4 inches.another way to get 1-1 1/2 in the front is washers,look in the tech page on this site.I also am using washers with my kit to help level my truck side to side and they are safe as well.good luck

87danger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
FORD
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual