• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

mystery metal

Ranger Rod

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.0 vulcan
Transmission
Automatic
OK, first I want to show my appreciation to all those folks who have posted to the threads which have been so helpful thus far.

Outline.... Cracked head in dead of winter, hoping to last till summer I tried can of sealer crap in coolant system against better judgment which clogged rad, which created back pressure in water jacket, which seeped into oil via crack or head gasket, which loosened crap everywhere, which clogged oil pick-up filter nearly solid.

Have re: & re: / rebuilt heads and hence proceeded to remove oil pan (due for replacement anyway) with motor still in truck as I am a backyard novice, while also cleaning pick-up filter to restore oil passage as none has been reaching top end since water jacket was compromised. When inspecting the oil pan for debris as I tend to do I found this piece of metal which I don’t think is either a cam or rod bearing as it is not wide enough to be from rod as-well to big to make way down from top end to oil pan.

Can anyone identify this piece of space junk found in my 1995 3.0 vulcan before I button up the bottom end again???

Last edited:

ItsA5Spd

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Can't see the pic.

Psychopete

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
His pic:

Pete

Last edited:

Ranger Rod

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.0 vulcan
Transmission
Automatic
one sec, was there a second ago

mrecoolgar

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
I hate to say it but... bearing material.

TomB1269

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2002, 2005, & 2
Make / Model
All Fords
Engine Size
3.0L/4.2L/5.4L3V
Transmission
Automatic