• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

To swap or not to swap? Questions and Questions

Dweano

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Automatic
Hey guys. I haven't posted here on awhile, because I haven't been driving the ol ranger for awhile. Because it is gutless and has a crappy 5R55E tranny. All of a sudden a potential solution has come about. Someone is selling a 96 Explorer with a V8 that was in a front end collision. Powertrain is in good shape. 166km's. For a not bad price. (the fact that it is even here in Saskatchewan is amazing considering I have been looking for awhile).

But I have a few questions because I would be scraping up the money for it and I have never done an engine swap before so I am unsure I should

Questions:

1. It is an AWD. So full time 4x4, which I do NOT want. I want to be able to put it in 2WD, 4Hi, and 4lo. Can other transfer cases bolt up that still allow my driveshafts to hook up that is a 2WD or 4WD selectable? Or how would I remedy this problem?

2. I have a 8.8 and a D35 with upgraded u-joints. The 5-460x or whatever they are called and manual hubs. Open front and locked back. Would the diffs survive? I would likely have to go easy on the front diff when 4x4-ing eh? I have 35's and 4.56's. Would that ratio still be alright with the V8 (likely it would still be the best I figure just double checking)

3. A guy is selling james duff motor mounts but between the explorer and ranger 4.0L mounts you can rig something up for near free right?

4. I know I will have more questions so I am leaving this space open haha

kryptonitecb

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
1. Yes

2. Don't know, but guys here are using stock axles without issues, an 8.8 will hold up

3. Mustang mounts, check the tech library