Home Discussion Forum Tech Articles Other Articles Featured Rides Readers Rides Classifieds Shirts & Decals Parts Store

Ford Ranger Discussion Forum

Off-Road Truck Of The Month

'AgPete139'
September 2014 OTOTM

Mini Truck Of The Month

'alexp11'
September 2014 MTOTM

Old 03-29-2012, 10:13 AM   #1
firedawg

Vehicle Year: 1994
Vehicle Make: Ford
Vehicle Model: Explorer
firedawg is on a distinguished road
Default 4.0 exhaust backfire, won't start in SC

Breaking down and asking for help finally... got a 94 explorer manual 270k that i've been messing with for 6 months. Not my primary vehicle but I miss the gas mileage. Problem started way back with a slight stumble which I figured fuel filter. Got progressivley worse the following days where it would idle find but when you hit the accelerator it would stumble and pop. Got to the point where it wouldnt go anymore. Actually got it started maybe 4 months ago and it idled nice and smooth but when you gave it gas it went stupid again. It showed some EGR codes that I never pursued. Now when cranking it backfires thru the exhaust and pisses all the dogs off in town.

Ignition module (checked twice), coils checked, new crankshaft position sensor, fuel filter changed, fuel pressure around 36 if I remember right. Changed out the computer today for one bought from a fellow member on this site, no change. I'm a decent shadetree mechanic but I need some direction with this one.

Seems like timing but when I had it running last it idled perfect. I'm thinking timing advance maybe? I understand there is a sensor in place of the distributor, heard its a bear to get to. Figured the computer reads both sensors on the cam and crank. Timing issue due to mileage? Not sure of maintenance history on timing chain? or belt? since ive only had it a couple of years.

Any suggestions or checklist to start from the top off? Thanks for reading.

Tony in SC
firedawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Forum Notices (Not shown to 'Premium Members')