• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

5R55E Transmission jerking repeatedly

CAW

Reaction score
Over the past week my truck has been having an issue which I can only assume is transmission related. When I drive at 50-60mph the truck will jerk several times, as if it is trying to shift gears and can't decide which gear to shift into. This only happens when shifting to a higher gear and not when slowing down from the problem speed range. The symptoms have been happening more often the last week. Sometimes the symptoms go away, or at least get better when the truck has been running for 5 or 10 minutes.

I am a bit of a novice when it comes to transmission work. I have checked the fluid level and it was full. The fluid and filter were changed about a year ago. The transmission code on my door sticker is "D" so I believe I have the 5R55E. I have heard that these can have problems with the valve body gasket blowing out? Another possible cause that I can think of would be a solenoid going bad. Perhaps the coil is effected by the vehicle warming up, making the problem intermittent. It always helps to get someone else's opinion. I would be totally open to any advice that you guys could give. Thanks!

1997 Ranger 4.0 OHV 200k miles 4x4

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
A transmission shop can usually read any codes the computer might have set for transmission problem, generic OBD2 scanners can sometimes get all the codes but not always.

Yes could be pressure issue, gaskets, seals and valves, or solenoid not holding.
Automatics run/work on pressure

And yes it would get worse as ATF heats up and gets thinner, like all oil does.

Really is a guessing game, trans shop can do line pressure checks to see if pressure is changing when it shouldn't, but still hard to narrow it down to "this is it".