• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

93 Ranger Rear End Advice ?

Kram

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
I have a 93 2WD 4.0 Ranger STX with over 220K miles on it. The rear ends making alot of noise sounds pretty bad going to need a complete rebuild or replaced

Please excuse me if i sound stupid I don't know much about Rear Ends I'm no mechanic I'm just a end user looking for some advice on what my options are to try and save some money
I'm getting quoted prices around $1200 complete rebuild and considering the truck has so many miles on it I'm hoping i can find some other options

Any advice ?

Mutant Pony

V8 Engine Swap
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
If it were me it would cost me about $100 to fix it. You need a friend that knows about cars. What kind of noise is it making? Does it get loud when your cruising and let off the throttle? Or does it get louder the faster you go? How do the brakes feel? Are you losing fluid? Are you losing gear lube out of the pinion seal (Rear of driveshaft)? Are the inside of your rear tires oily? If so does it stink, kind of a garlic smell?
By the way, You don't sound stupid. Stupid people wouldn't ask.

Last edited:

Kram

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic