• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

advice for first time gear install

mazdamama

Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
im considering doing a gear install on my dana 44 and 9 inch, but i have never done gears before, and ive heard that the 9 inch is a good axle to start with. i am realy looking for suggestions, like if theres any good install movies i should buy and watch, what special tools will i probably need to buy, and anything else anyone thinks i should know. i have the money and i will most likely be doing this multiple times so i think it would be best if i leared how to do this myself rather than keep paying other people to do it.

BRUTUS_T_HOG

Article Contributor
ASE Certified Tech
TRS Banner 2010-2011
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3L
Transmission
Manual
well that depends, do you want to do it right? or backyard style? new gears or used gears? and also this is going to be very expensive if you're buying all the tools.

get overhaul kits for each axle

you need- a 0-1" micrometer, pinion depth gauge, backlash gauge, rotary file, impact gun, big hammer, large drift punch, seal puller, 2 jaw gear puller, beam style INCH LB torque wrench. i can't think of anything else right now

i don't feel like explaining every detail at the moment.. but i can answer questions

dangerranger83

5.0 HO under the hood!!!
Supporting Member
V8 Engine Swap
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
5.0 HO carbed with an np435 and np208
Transmission
Manual
In easy terms, find a friend with all the tools to help you, thats the chepest way, its only the cost of a case of beer, like what I'm doing only my friend is my brother-in-law.

swamprat

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD