• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Anyone ever lower the Ranger Edge?

Lefty

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger Edge
Transmission
Automatic
I'm a Ranger noob with a 2003 Edge. As most of you know, way back then Ford raised the ride height on that model using a "lift block" or a spacer on either end of the rear axle. Maybe the designers thought this would make this particular model look rough and ready for off road wanderings. The trouble is that I have a 373 one wheel wonder, no limited slip. I've never taken it off road and probably never will. I do have somewhat larger tires, but nothing special.

Wouldn't this particular model handle better if it were lowered, say,1 inch? Or would there be no real gain? And if there is, can I just buy shorter lift blocks without spending a couple hundred on those kits which include, new shocks, etc? I would imagine I could just crank down the front end and reset the camber.

Anyone ever try this?

Attachments

Uncle Gump

Token Old Guy
TRS Event Staff
TRS Forum Moderator
Supporting Member
VAGABOND
TRS Event Participant
TRS 25th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2006/1986
Make / Model
Ranger/BroncoII
Engine Size
4.0L SOHC/2.9L
2WD / 4WD
4WD
My credo
Lead follow or get out of my way
You certainly could use a shorter or no block in the rear to lower it. It's the front where things get tricky with these torsion bar suspensions.