• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Automatic Hub Slipping: Repair or Replace?

tcbaklash

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
My truck is running the OG stock automatic hubs from way back (which I'm reading here and there is a damn long time for these things to survive). I'm still pretty new to this whole 4x4 thing, my last project was an '86 BMW and I have no idea what I'm doing, but my driver's-side hub is slipping SOMETIMES when I run 4x4. The noise is a periodic "BANG" and the truck lurches a little. But the 4x4 function does work properly besides that.

It feels like the hub is just going to explode every time it slips, and I know I have to do something about it. My two options are clear: investigate and repair, or replace the hubs with some new Warns. Now being a poor college student, I'd much rather go the former route and fix it for a price that's close to free instead of spending $100 on what should go to school supplies, groceries, rent, and beer. I'm just not really sure what to look for inside the hub. I read somewhere to blast all the grease out of it with brake cleaner, and my hub is pretty greasy last time I looked... Any guidance is welcomed, I'm happy to learn more about my little truck.

Cars+PCs=Awesome

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger XLT
Transmission
Automatic
I may be mistaken, but the automatic hubs are vacuum controlled, so the skip could be due to the vacuum not holding. There is a way to rig the hub's to be manual, or just see where the vacuum leak is at... But I could still be wrong about the hub's.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

turbo91xlt

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year

Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual