• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

codes

bigblue88

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
FORD
Engine Size
2.9 v6
Transmission
Automatic
Hi I got a 88 ford ranger v6 2.9,
I am kind of new to the car mechanic field and am running my scanner and got a couple codes I dont understand any help would appreciate. Thanks

21 engine coolant temp out of range
74 brake on off signal ope or short to ground
77 system did not receive goose test

kimcrwbr1

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
2.8l
Transmission
Automatic
Did you warm the engine all the way up before doing the test and the goose test or dynamic responce is when you are doing the KOER test when the reader gives you one flash you need to push the throttle half way down for a couple of seconds. Did you change or clean any sensors you need to reset the computer erase the memory by running the KOEO test and when it starts giving you codes end the test and that will erase the memory then disconnect the battery for 1/2 hour. To retest run the truck at medium speeds for about 20 minutes until at operating temp then do the KOER test and goose it when you get one flash then give us the results.

bigblue88

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
FORD
Engine Size
2.9 v6
Transmission
Automatic
Yes I did repalce a few sensors, so I will have to reset the computer and I didn't know you have to hold down throttle, Thank you very much

holyford86

Some guy with a problem
Supporting Member
Article Contributor
RBV's on Boost
GMRS Radio License
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
many
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
Tire Size
33x12.50R15
you don't hold it down, you just give it a shot to the floor, same with the brake, just have to press it quick....

bigblue88

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
FORD
Engine Size
2.9 v6
Transmission
Automatic