• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

hey everyone

h3o

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
well i just picked up a 88 2.9 4x4 ranger, now i want to do all the maintenance that i can before it gets too late. anyways it has 200xxx miles on it and ive checked compression and thats good, looked for signs of a cracked head and none so far. heres a list of what i am going to do

- replace oil pan gasket (its leaking, is it a pita?)
- replace both valve cover gaskets (leaking)
- oil change (20w50 cause of the mileage)
- replace gear fluid ( dont know the last time it was changed)
- spark plugs
- wires
- cap
- rotor
- fuel filter

now is there anything else that goes really wrong with these trucks? i have some decent knowledge with autos but nothing really this old. i might buy refurbished heads for $400 for a just incase and the do a rebuild on the top end.

also is there a higher amperage then 90? what years came with the 135?

MAKG

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
Replacing the oil pan gasket is a huge PITA on a 4WD. Though some folks will argue about it, to replace it effectively and safely requires you to remove the engine from the vehicle. Make DANG sure it's really the oil pan leaking, as anything above it (including the known-leaky valve covers) can drip oil onto it and make it look leaky.

90A is plenty for stock equipment. If you aren't having brownout issues, don't mess with it.

Replace ALL the fluids -- crankcase oil, transmission oil, both differentials, cooling system,and BRAKE FLUID (just everyone seems to miss that), and repack the front bearings and lubricate every grease fitting. Replace the rad cap and thermostat with the coolant.

It wouldn't hurt to replace fuel and air filters.