• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

HID retrofits and radio noise

calypso93

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger
Engine Size
4L
Transmission
Automatic
I use a CB in my daily driver, and have noticed a new noise source. Seems like when I get within 25 feet of a car with the super bright HID conversions, there's a very real noise problem. Wonder if anyone with the HIDs and comm radios in their Rangers have seen the same effect.

mrcarcrazy

Reaction score
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
i believe its due to RF that is dispersed by the HID ballast.

Some Lotus Owners have issues with their FM radio's after HID swap. its been attributed to the Ballast and Radio antenna being in close proximity.

I'm by no means an electrical engineer, so this could be a bit off.

Fx4wannabe01

February 2010 OTOTM Winner
Article Contributor
OTOTM Winner
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
The noise is coming through the coax/antenna. I'vebeen meaning to try out one of those filters that interrupt the antenna to the radio. But for me it's not really needed because at night i'm wheeling with my friends BS'in with them through the radio in close range.

calypso93

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger
Engine Size
4L
Transmission
Automatic
fx4wannabe - that's exactly where your signals of interest come thru. The noise I have witnessed is so broadbanded that a good filter would remove the signal as well.

mrcarcrazy - that's what I figured. Wonder how the cars with factory HIDs solved the problem.

Thanks for the replies.

Scrambler82

U.S. Military - Veteran
V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford/EDGE
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
4.5" SL
Total Drop
WWWhhhaaattt !?!
Tire Size
33 x 12.50
Funny what an AM signal will pick up.