• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Newbie here needs help, Idle

campermama

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
01 ford ranger 4x4 4.0 V6......

It runs fine but just started to lope at idle, any ideas? Oh and check engine light is on, I don't have anything to read the codes, can an auto parts store read them for me?

Thanks!

RangerMan64

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
Hi there,
Yes Autozone can read them for you.

MAKG

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
Hi there,
Yes Autozone can read them for you.
And very gladly sell you a part you don't need as well.

Professional diagnosis is not free. Free diagnosis is not professional.

I recommend very strongly against going to untrained high-turnover personnel for advice. The company provides this service because it raises sales, not because it serves any useful function.

Hahnsb2

TRS Banner 2010-2011
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
88-95
Make / Model
Ford-Dodge
Engine Size
4.0-5.2 Turbo
Transmission
Manual
I use the scanner at shucks, they just hand it to you and I do it by myself so I don't have to listen to them try and sell me anything... I fail to see how getting the codes scanned anywhere is a bad thing MAKG? You don't HAVE to buy anything they try and sell you.

chazzone

Supporting Member
TRS Banner 2010-2011
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Codes don't always tell you what's wrong, only what is showing up to the computer. On the other hand, sometimes the code tells you exactly what is wrong.

I'm with Hahn, go to Autozone and get the codes read, then if the problem isn't clear, come back and post what you found and I'm sure you'll get some good input from the pros.

-zz