• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

98 Ranger reg cab,short box Solid Axle Swap. Half ton

Macneil87

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
I am posting to share my little project truck that I’ve been working on for a couple of years. I thought I’d made a post on the forums awhile back but I hadn’t. I was reminded when I read about the return of truck of the month.

Here's a couple of pics and a short description of what has been done.

I’ve owned the truck for 5-6 years now. I bought it from my old man when the 4L started puking coolant out of the intake manifold gasket. I bought the truck with the intention of eventually doing a solid axle swap. Fixed the coolant leak and other small stuff and I drove it around in stock form for 2 years and used it as my daily driver. It only ever left me stranded once before I chopped it apart so I figured it was a good candidate and it proved itself to me. I’m a Heavy Duty mechanic by trade up here in Canada. With that being said, I am good with tools and a welder and full of ideas. Purpose of the build originally was to put it on one tons and 40s, and then covid hit and every thing went sky high in price. I eventually settled for a set of 1/2 ton diffs from a 97 Ram 1500 that I snagged from a buddy for a good price that had already been re geared. I went on Kijiji (Our snow land version of Craigslist) and started picking up more junk to make things work. As usual, a budget was the biggest thing to work within, I tried to keep it under $10,000 Canuck funds, including what I paid for the truck. Here’s a hodge podge Ranger that came out of the garage after a couple of years of slowly building and buying more parts/tools to do the work.

-1998 Ranger Short box (stepside/splash), regular cab 4x4 with a 5 speed manual and 4L engine.