• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

CrazyRN

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3L
Transmission
Automatic
Ok, so I am totally new to this whole forum thing, especially in relation to trucks, or anything mechanical, lol. My son (17) has a 1997 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3L, that he's had for a little over a year. Yesterday, he had driven the truck 2 or 3 different times without trouble & later in the day he had went approximately 5 miles when he stopped at a red light. As soon as he attempted to take off at the light the engine died. It cranks (with a very subtle hesitation) & idles perfect & runs fine in reverse, but as soon as it is shifted into gear it immediately dies & the check engine light glows red. A fellow stopped by & tested something in the panel under the steering wheel & said he believes it is the torque converter "switch" & suggested I either find a good transmission mechanic (which I'm told we really don't have locally) or replace the transmission (CHA-CHING$$$!!). After doing some reading, I have found nothing about a 'switch', but rather a clutch, but also read that the solenoid is more likely to go out before the actual torque converter clutch itself. I also ran into some odd & end forums about a few with similar symptoms who had a blown fuse (in engine compartment) or something related to a sensor. I had to have the truck towed home so running it around to have it tested is not really an option. Only real mods are a cold air intake & some kind of fuel chip (?) that were added in January this year with no problems from either thus far. I am a nurse, not a mechanic, but I have previously (& successfully) torn the dash out of this truck & repaired the odometer gear, replaced dash lights, replaced the fuel pump & fuel neck, in addition to cosmetic work (lights, etc.) myself, just from reading online. So, with that being said,